Profile: Kate Waghorn (PhD Student, University of Tromsø, Norway)

Kate Waghorn 2.jpgName: Kate Waghorn

Job Role: PhD in geology and geophysics

Organisation: University of Tromsø, Norway

Education Background: 

  • BSc Physics/Geology – University of Auckland
  • MSc Geophysics – University of Auckland

1. What inspired you to take up a career in the Geosciences?

I am really passionate about being in nature and understanding the world around me, so geosciences was the obvious choice.

2. Can you give more detail about your path to your current job role?

When I finished high school I had no clue what I wanted to do later in life, just that I should go to university while I figured it out. I enrolled in a mathematics and physics programme, and also took a few geography and geology courses. By the end of the first year I realized I was much more interested in more geology so ended up pursuing geology and geophysics as a career path.

3. What does your current job role involve?

I research how earthquakes and tectonics influence fluid flowing underground. My current study area is off the coast of Svalbard, in the Arctic, so naturally all my field work happens aboard a research ship.

Kate Waghorn 1

4. What do you enjoy most about your job?

Getting to spend time in the Arctic every year is pretty amazing as it’s not a place all that many people can say they have gone. I also really enjoy the travel component – getting to travel around the world and check out the cool geology. I also really enjoy telling my friends about the rocks they are standing on.

5. Why do you think it’s important to encourage more girls into Geoscience?

A balanced work place is so important to any field, in my opinion. Geosciences is such an adventurous area to work in, and it adds such a different perspective to all issues surrounding geosciences when girls are getting as involved in the subject as the males.

6. If you could give a piece of advice to girls currently thinking about a career in the Geosciences, what would it be?

If you love exploring the world and nature around you, and have a passion for adventure, geoscience is a fantastic way to combine this into a job. People working in geoscience have a fantastic opportunity to work in and with nature and we have the opportunity to leave the world in a better state than we found it.


 A new profile is added each Wednesday at 10am GMT. If you’d like to be involved, upload your profile today using the ‘profile uploads’ page or email: lara.mani@plymouth.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @girlsingeosc

Leave a Reply

