Profile: Wendy Jones (IT Manager & Technical Support, Geotechnical Engineering Ltd.)

WENDY JONES.jpgName: Wendy Jones

Job Role: IT (Software) Manager and Technical Support

Organisation: Geotechnical Engineering Ltd.

Education Background: 

  • BSc (Hons) Geology with Physical Geography

1. What inspired you to take up a career in the Geosciences?

I have always loved the Geosciences, and Geology in particular. I knew I wanted to study Geology but did not at the time imagine a career, even though I hoped for a related job.

2. Can you give more detail about your path to your current job role?

Just before graduation, I saw an ad in the local paper. GEL were recruiting for soil laboratory technicians. I applied and started in the role of lab technician where I became proficient in soil and rock testing. I remained in the lab for four and a half years where I advanced to senior technician & team leader. I then moved to the engineering team to take up a dual role of engineering geologist and IT support. As well as carrying out logging, site supervision and report writing, I also took over the maintenance of the company’s software program, gINT which we use to process and present our field and lab data. 8 years later I returned to the lab as Supervisor for three years after which I took the role of IT (Software) Manager & Technical Support.

3. What does your current job role involve?

I now develop and maintain the two new software programs we recently acquired in order to streamline our fieldwork and laboratory data gathering and reporting. I am also responsible for some of the training of our engineers and technicians.

4. What do you enjoy most about your job?

The fact that I am both learning all the time AND using the skills I gained training as both a technician and engineer makes this job so enjoyable. I think the diverse skills I have picked up whilst working at GEL have made me the best fit for the job. I also get to work with a lot of people with different like drillers and consultants.

5. Why do you think it’s important to encourage more girls into Geoscience?

There simply aren’t enough of us and we can make just as big a contribution and get just as far in this industry.

6. If you could give a piece of advice to girls currently thinking about a career in the Geosciences, what would it be?

Go for it. Don’t be afraid or put off by the fact that it has been seen as a male dominated industry. Not so anymore. It’s so rewarding, I love my job.

Wendy was also recipient of the Keynetix Geotechnical Data Management Award 2016 for Data Collection are Reporting.

geoengwinner-wendyjones


 A new profile is added each Wednesday at 10am BST. If you’d like to be involved, upload your profile today using the ‘profile uploads’ page or email: lara.mani@plymouth.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @girlsingeosci

Leave a Reply

